Skip to main content

Tennessee Higher Education Commission



From the Tennessee Higher Education Commission website in 2021: "The Tennessee Higher Education Commission was created in 1967 by the Tennessee General Assembly to achieve coordination and foster unity with regard to higher education in the state. The Commission coordinates and provides guidance to the institutions governed by the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees, the six locally-governed state universities, and the community colleges, and colleges of applied technology governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents. There are currently nine public universities, two special purpose institutes, 13 community colleges, and 27 colleges of applied technology in Tennessee that serve approximately 250,000 students.

The Commission is composed of nine voting members appointed from the general public, each serving six-year terms and representing the three Grand Divisions of the state equally; three constitutional officers- Comptroller of the Treasury, State Treasurer, and Secretary of State- who are ex-officio voting members; one voting student member; and the Executive Director of the State Board of Education, as an ex-officio, non- voting member."

The common abbreviation for the commission is THEC or T.H.E.C.

Found in 3 Collections and/or Records:

Tennessee Board of Regents and Tennessee Higher Education Commission papers

 Unprocessed Material
Identifier: 2017-0058
Dates: 1937 - 1996

Tennessee Higher Education Commission, 1967 - 1991

Scope and Contents From the File:

Preprocessing notes: The folder titled "teacher load and enrollment" is the class schedule before it was printed from 1960-1968. See bulletins for inforamtion regarding this after.

The THEC index and minutes give details on faculty hiring and leave, building construction and naming.

American Council on Education folders hold a breadth of information regarding disabled veterans on campus.

Dates: 1967 - 1991

Additional filters:

Unprocessed Material 1
Archival Object 1
Collection 1